Personal PR everyday

Today, I went to class in a rather casual outfit. I wore a long sleeve sweater, jeans, and flats.  For me, this is rather dressed up for class. When I started to think about how I was dressed, I realized how many impressions are made about a person simply by what they wear. 

I pass by hundreds of students, professors, and other people on campus each day. Although the majority of these people I don’t know personally, they probably got an impression of me by the way I was dressed. 

Personal PR means being to communicate to the right audience who you are. With this in mind, it is important to take each day to take a step back to understand your audience. You represent yourself each day. You also More than yourself, you represent the student organizations you belong to, the University you attend, and the family you’re from. 

Just like in any forms of writing, it’s important to keep a clear consistent voice across channels. When you’re going to class, be aware of your peers and teachers as they are your audience. What you say, how you participate, and your physical appearance are all opportunities to promote yourself in a positive way. 

In a lot of ways, you are how you appear to be. Susan M. Heathfield talks about the importance of your image in communication and networking. So remember your audience in each situation, and communicate yourself effectively.

Leave a comment